AccesSurf’s Hawai’i Adaptive Surfing Championships, Presented by OliverMcMillan

Waikiki, Hawa’ii – August 21-23,2017 – Queen’s Surf Break off beautiful Kuhio Beach in Waikiki was the setting for 81 surfers with disabilities from 14 nations around the world as they converged to celebrate and participate in the 16th annual Duke’s OceanFest.

Duke’s OceanFest 2017, is a celebration of the life of Duke Kahanamoku on his 127th birthday year and all the ocean activities he did in Hawai’i and shared with the world.  Surfing, swimming, SUP, lifeguarding, surf polo and volleyball.

For the past 11 years AccesSurf has been empowering people with disabilities by providing adaptive water sports programs. This is the 11th year AccesSurf Hawaii has partnered with the Duke’s OceanFest to present the values Duke shared with all those that visited Waikiki Beach. 

The Hawaii Adaptive Surfing Championships hosted 10 divisions over the three day competition: Men’s Sit, Women’s Sit, Stand, Kneel, Prone, Assisted, Mixed, Deaf, Wounded Warrior A&B.

This year marked the inaugural year crown an overall champion with the Nalu Award and  $1,000 prize purse.

The Men’s Sit division results:

1st  Fellipe Lima, Brazil                                                   

2nd –Jeff Munson, US                                                                      

3rd– Spike Kane, Great Britain

4th– Chris Oberle, USA


Women’s Sit division results:

1st– Alana Nichols, USA

2nd-Victoria Feige, CAN

3rd– Meira Durate, HAW

4th– Diane Whitcomb- HAW


Stand Division results:

1st– Eric Welton, HAW

2nd– Colin Cook, HAW

3rd– Dani Burt, USA

4th– Tommy Counihan, HAW

Kneel Division results:


1st– Mark ‘Mono’ Stewart, AUS

2nd– Pirata Neto, Brazil

3rd– Lylwelyn Williams, Wales

4th– Dan Cnossen, USA



Prone Division results:

1st– Sean Ryan, USA

2nd– Zach Tapec, HAW

3rd– Alvaro Bayona Baques, Spain

4th– Bond Camp, HAW



Assisted Division results:

1st– Izumo Hattori, Japan

2nd– Jesse Billauer, USA

3rd-Jeff Andrews, USA

4th– Victorino Pullman, HAW


Mixed Division results:

1st– Matt Formston, AUS

2nd– Scott Leason, USA

3rd– Aitor Francesena Uria, Spain

4th– Dean McSporran, AUS



Deaf Division results:

1st– Trey Balding,HAW

2nd– Paul McDonnell,HAW

3rd– Josh Beal, HAW

4th– Ray Rapozo, HAW

Wounded Warrior A results:

1st– Tommy Counihan, HAW

2nd– Nate Hamilton, USA

3rd– Michelle Tippens, USA

4th– Mark Thorton, USA



Wounded Warrior B results:


1st– Clint Munoz, HAW

2nd– Pete Slayden

3rd– Tony Lynch

4th– Joe Jackson



The 2017 Hawaii Adaptive Surfing Champion of the Nalu Award








Fellipe Lima, Brazil

Mahalo to our generous sponsors:

OliverMcMillan, Marathon Group, BEI Hawaii, HT&T, Team Real Estate, Neutrogena, Aroma Caffe, Cole-Brooks Construction, Aloha Petroleum, Soderholm, Wounded Warrior Project, Pacific Honda, Hula Grill, Summit Media, Freedom Media, Craig Short Custom Woodworking, Hard Rock Café, KIND bars, Gre3n Energy Drink, Sun Bum, Maui Jim, Kona Brewing, North Shore Prosthetics & Orthotics